hide logo

Anja Breljak

Affective machines. On the relationship between affect and media technologies in digital capitalism


Affect is increasingly operationalized and used in the media dispositif of sensory networking. On the one hand, this can be observed under the heading of “affective computing” in the field of assistive technologies and social robotics, where the automated recognition, processing and simulation of affective impulses is presumed to guarantee “more humane” technology. On the other hand, the role of affect is illustrated even more comprehensively in social media and digital platforms, where the data-based recording of user movements not only indicates affective dynamics but also enables commercial and political exploitation.
The dissertation project “Affective machines: On the relationship between affect and media technologies in digital capitalism” takes a look at how the role of affect as a political force shifts with this development towards sensitive media networks. Subsequent questions about subjectivity, becoming collective, about new forms of knowledge and the ability to know with and through technology will be tackled in the project. By focusing on the transformations of care work, privacy and the public, the project aims at providing a critique of governmentality at the dawn of the digital age.


Brief Bio
Anja Breljak studied philosophy and economics in Berlin, Paris and Sarajevo. She then worked as a research assistant at the Open Topic Chair for Legal and Constitutional Theory at the TU Dresden, while studying computer science part-time. She works between the disciplines, organizes and moderates events in the field of political economy, performative philosophy and digital society. Her research interests include body and media history, theories of affect and power, post-structuralism and performative art/critique.

barrierefreie Ansicht

Anja Breljak

Affektmaschinen. Zum Verhältnis von Affekt und Medientechnologien im digitalen Kapitalismus


Affekte werden im Mediendispositiv sensorischer Vernetzung zunehmend operationalisiert, maschinisiert und zum Einsatz gebracht. Das lässt sich einerseits unter dem Stichwort „affective computing“ im Feld der assistiven Technologien und der sozialen Robotik beobachten, wo die automatisierte Erkennung, Verarbeitung und Simulation affektiver Regungen als Garant für eine „humanere“ Technologie angesehen wird. Andererseits zeigt sich diese Rolle der Affekte auch umfassender in den sozialen Medien und digitalen Plattformen, wo die datenmäßige Erfassung von User-Bewegungen nicht nur auf affektive Dynamiken schließen lässt, sondern auch eine kommerzielle und politische Ausnutzung ermöglicht.
Das Dissertationsprojekt „Affektmaschinen. Zum Verhältnis von Affekt und Medientechnologien im digitalen Kapitalismus“ nimmt in den Blick, wie sich mit dieser Entwicklung die Rolle von Affekt als politischer Kraft verschiebt. Daran sich anschließende Fragen nach dem Subjekt- und Kollektivwerden, nach neuen Formen des Wissens und Wissen-Könnens mit und durch Technologie, sowie Transformationen von Sorgearbeit, Privatheit und Öffentlichkeit werden darin aufgegriffen und in einer Kritik der digitalen Gouvernementalität umfassend aufgearbeitet.

Kurzbiographie
Anja Breljak hat Philosophie und Volkswirtschaftslehre in Berlin, Paris und Sarajevo studiert. Danach war sie als wissenschaftliche Hilfskraft an der Open-Topic-Professur für Rechts- und Verfassungstheorie an der TU Dresden tätig, und hat sich während eines Teilzeitstudiums in der Informatik umgeschaut. Sie arbeitet zwischen den Disziplinen, organisiert und moderiert Veranstaltungen im Feld der politischen Ökonomie, performativen Philosophie und digitalen Gesellschaft. Ihre Forschungsinteressen umfassen Körper- und Mediengeschichte, Affekt- und Machttheorien, Poststrukturalismus und performative Kunst&Kritik.